The Altai-Sayan Ecoregion occupies the territory of 1,065 millions of square km in the center of the Eurasia and stretches for 1600 km from east to west and 1300 km from north to south on the territory of four countries: 62% in Russia, 29% - in Mongolia, 5% - in Kazakhstan and 4% - in China.

It includes six provinces of Russia, four provinces of Mongolia, one province in Kazakhstan and part of a province in China.

The coverage of protected areas in the Altai-Sayan Ecoregion is 17.6 million ha (data on 01.01.2015) what equivalent to 16.5% of the total area of the region.